Get our newsletters

Doylestown Art League names student art awards winners


The Doylestown Art League announced the recipients of its student art awards program: Sabrina Eisenberg from Central Bucks East, Kaitlyn Romero from Central Bucks South and Julia Dymek from Central Bucks West.

The league’s Laura Hager Student Art Award is given in memory of Laura Hager, who was an active and significant member of the league.

Through this award the Doylestown Art League seeks to recognize and encourage young students in their artistic careers. One graduating student from each of the Central Bucks High Schools is selected by the judging committee to receive this annual award. The selection is based on a review of their portfolio and an assessment of their creativity, technical ability and the presentation of their work.

Eisenberg will attend Rhode Island School of Design in the fall and is interested in architecture and interior design. She is the National Arts Honor Society treasurer at CB East. Romero will attend the Tyler School of Art at Temple University. Her future plans are to major in art education and painting and drawing. Dymek, a talented young artist and illustrator, is headed to Savannah College of Art and Design.

The awards procedure has been challenged by the pandemic. Rather than personally interviewing the students and reviewing their work, the League has been assisted by the art teachers and guidance counselors of the CB high schools who have made these choices on its behalf. The league offers many thanks to them for their help in these difficult times.

The CB High Schools have an Advanced Placement Studio Art Course in their curriculum. Students enrolled in the AP Studio Art course are expected to produce a portfolio demonstrating their mastery of concept, composition, color and design principles, and to the development of a body of work of their choosing. Students work on these portfolios both in school and at home throughout the year.

These portfolios, and questionnaires in the application for these awards, form the basis for the difficult task of selecting the students for these awards. The league congratulates these talented young students, saying, “As always the expertise shown in the work of these students is truly amazing.”