Bucks County Herald

New Hope-Solebury seniors named National Merit semifinalists

New Hope-Solebury High School National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalists Ronak Rijhwani and Kaylee Tao.

New Hope-Solebury High School seniors Ronak Rijhwani and Kaylee Tao are semifinalists in the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

About 1.6 million juniors entered the 2018 National Merit Program by taking the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, which represents less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state.

Rijhwani and Tao have an opportunity to continue in the competition for Merit Scholarship awards, worth more than $33 million, that will be offered next spring.

New Hope-Solebury High School seniors Claudia Koeppen, Isabella Mailer and Katie Warren were named Commended Students in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. Although they will not continue in the 2018 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 5 percent of the students who entered the competition.



Copyright ©2017 Bucks County Herald, Inc. All rights reserved.